Education In Africa

Education in South Africa is governed by two national departments, namely the department of Basic Education (DBE), which is responsible for primary and secondary schools, and the department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), which is responsible for tertiary education and vocational training. Prior to 2009, these two departments were represented in a single Department of Education. The DBE department deals with public schools, private schools (also referred to by the department as independent schools), early childhood development (ECD) centres, and special needs schools. The DHET department deals with further education and training (FET) colleges, adult basic education and training (ABET) centres, and higher education (HE) institutions.

Primary Education

Education in South Africa is continuing to take strain as the government attempts to achieve equal opportunities for all. The system is divided into 3 strata, namely general education and training, further education and training, and higher education and training. The process is compulsory through to grade 9, and spans 12 grades in total. The first 6 years are spent in primary school where literacy and numeracy are established.

Middle Education

The following 3 years are spent in middle school. Subjects taught continue to be academic with a flavor of vocational training. Completion brings with it a basic education and training certificate.

Secondary Education

Secondary education is administered through a network of previously mainly-white government schools and private colleges. Standards are generally high. Unfortunately school fees and tuition fees respectively debar the poorest from attending.

Vocational Education

cational training is administered by sector education and training authorities arranged across functional lines. Training itself is provided mainly by commercial colleges functioning partly under government subsidies. Beneath this lies a plethora of independent adult schools some of which maintain high standards.

Tertiary Education

Tertiary education and training is provided through a large number of private and state-managed institutions South Africa Educationunder the overall control of the ministry of higher education and training. Polytechnics train technicians is a wide variety of disciplines while universities award traditional bachelors, masters and doctorates degrees. A wide divide in quality standards between previously “white” and previously “independent homeland” institutions continues to pervade society. The oldest university in South Africa is the University of Cape Town established in 1829 and depicted here. It is set out on the lower slopes of the Table Mountain Massif as the architect interpreted the style of the Greek Pantheon.


1 University of Cape Town Cape Town
2 University of Pretoria Pretoria
3 University of Stellenbosch Stellenbosch
4 University of the Witwatersrand Johannesburg
5 Rhodes University Grahamstown
6 University of KwaZulu-Natal Pinetown
7 University of the Western Cape Bellville
8 University of South Africa Pretoria
9 University of Johannesburg Johannesburg
10 Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Port Elizabeth
11 Cape Peninsula University of Technology Bellville
12 University of the Free State Bloemfontein
13 Tshwane University of Technology Pretoria
14 Durban University of Technology Durban
15 University of Fort Hare Alice
16 Milpark Business School Cape Town
17 Vaal University of Technology Vanderbijlpar
18 University of Limpopo Medunsa
19 Central University of Technology Bloemfontein
20 Walter Sisulu University Southernwood
21 University of Venda Thohoyandou
22 Monash South Africa Johannesburg
23 South African Theological Seminary Rivonia
24 Stenden University South Africa Port Alfred
25 IMM Graduate School of Marketing Johannesburg
26 The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance Johannesburg
27 Mangosuthu University of Technology Umlazi
28 Management College of Southern Africa Durban
29 Doxa Deo School of Divinity Johannesburg
30 Baptist Theological College of Southern Africa Johannesburg
31 The Open Window School of Visual Communication Pretoria
32 George Whitefield College Cape Town
33 St Augustine College of South Africa Johannesburg
34 Midrand Graduate Institute Midrand
35 University of Zululand KwaDlangezwa
36 Inscape Design College Johannesburg

Physics Course outline

All the physics tutorials of physics for class 11 and 12 are almost free. You can start from beginning and simply improve your soft skills.

Physics Course Outline

Skill Development Programmes

We offer online examination section of various subjects to improve your in examination.

read more